Re Asian Cuisine: Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay

Hubby & I with the Manama City Skyline as the background

As one of his birthday presents, my husband brought me to a restaurant in Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay last November 17. I know what you’re thinking. No, I didn’t demand it from him. I didn’t even feel like celebrating my birthday that night. I used to hold my birthday celebrations mostly with friends for years. But I just didn’t feel of arranging another one this year. Signs of aging maybe? But yeah, he insisted that we go out. He saved up for that night. The original plan was to have it in Meisei, a Japanese Restaurant in Adliya. But at the last minute, he found this and after careful research, decided that we’d just go here. This is not my first fine dining experience, as for my birthday last 2013, my family and I went to Gordon Ramsay Restaurant at The St. Regis Hotel and to The Three Sixty Restaurant at The Torch Hotel, both in Doha, Qatar.

Located at the 50th floor of Four Seasons Hotel, Re Asian Cuisine by Wolfgang Puck offers a beautiful view of Manama city skyline for their window seating. The restaurant’s cuisine is Modern Asian: mainly a mix of Singaporean, Chinese, and Thai. Wolfgang Puck? Sounds familiar. I am not really a foodie, so forgive my ignorance. As I look into google, turns out he is a celebrity chef.

We ordered their 3-course set menu which includes appetizer, main dish and dessert.

As I am not a professional “foodie reviewer”, so my take would just be as simple as sharing if it was delicious or not. For our appetizer, I had Chinese Chicken Salad and Drew had the Dim Sum Duo. My salad was a bit bitter, because it had Sweet Mustard Vinaigrette. Oh well, I should have read the entire menu, but then I wouldn’t know either way that it was supposed to be bitter. We’re here for the surprise anyway, so charge it to experience. Drew’s chicken dumplings and beef wagyu were very good.

Then the main dish. I had the pan-seared Sea Bass and Drew had the Braised-Beef Short Ribs. Mine came with noodles, and Drew’s with steamed rice. I liked my sea bass, I didn’t like the beef (maybe because I didn’t find anything special about it). What we both loved was the Fried Rice and Spicy Chow Fun Noodles as sides that came already with it. Kanin palang, ulam na. And the noodles, very tasty! Very Thai!

Off to my favorite part: Desserts! (Cue in Dawin’s Music) I ordered the Marjolasian which had a coffee ice cream on the side (YAY! Coffee!). It was heaven… Loved it, considering that I am a coffee lover! I forgot the name of Drew’s dessert, but it was like a moist cake with apple (or was it passion fruit? or pineapple?) flavored sorbet on the side and coconut mousse. He liked it. I didn’t because the sorbet was a bit sour. The staff made the night special by placing a birthday dedication and candles on each of the desserts plate. Drew noticed that they have put little salt on the ice cream and the sorbet just so they would not melt from the candle.

The bill: Each set menu is priced at BD 23 +++ (15% service charge & 5% gov. levy). For me, it was reasonably priced. The service the staff rendered to us that night was excellent. Our server, who happens to be a Filipina, knows very well the food she was serving. Kudos ate! Forgot her name.

Overall, I enjoyed the experience. What made my birthday more exceptional is the thought that Drew actually prepared for it. Eating at a five star hotel was an added bonus. Honestly, I don’t know what I did to deserve such a sweet and loving husband. You know that feeling when you are being showered with so much love for just being yourself? I don’t do fancy stuff for Drew, but still he never fails to make me feel special. That’s what makes my birthday this year a definite one for the books!

***The restaurant is open only for dinner from Mondays to Saturdays, 7pm to 11 pm. For reservations, you can visit their website at Re Asian Cuisine: Four Seasons Hotel.

I like food. I like eating. And I don’t want to deprive myself of good food. – Sarah Michelle Gellar

 

Leave a Reply

